The Crazy Halloween Letter About Obese Children or Bitches Be Trippin’

Let me just get this out of the way, what the HELL was she thinking?

I love children and puppies and kittens and well, all things good. I am trying to understand what the woman who wrote the letter saying  this Halloween she would give a letter  to children she thought were “moderately obese”  was thinking. She said it was an attempt to guide their parents  to feed them a healthy diet. There are so many things wrong with this that I am not sure where to start, but here I go.

Children go out trick or treating on Halloween in order to dress up, laugh, and have fun. They do not come to your house for your judgmental crap. They do not come to your home in order to be hurt. If you do not want to participate in Halloween, don’t. If you are truly concerned about  the harms of giving out candy at Halloween, don’t. Give out healthy treats to everyone.

Maybe you don’t know this, but it is important to children to be treated with respect, kindness and to be treated fairly and equally.   What you do for one child, you should do for another.  Choosing one group, singling them out for one trait  for ridicule is bullying and it is ugly. 

  Bullying and cruelty  of this kind can scar people for life, and potentially  leave them to deal with this issue in different ways (various eating disorders) for the rest of their lives.  Do you really want to be responsible for that?

You might have wanted to  achieve something positive. Clearly, you have not thought this through. Maybe someone was harsh with you about your weight.  Or maybe it is easy for you to maintain your healthy weight so you don’t understand that others struggle with this issue.  However, we all have issues. Some people had loving, nurturing parents. Others didn’t  but we try to be sensitive to the struggles of others. No, I don’t mean we make excuses for others. I personally  hold others responsible for their behaviors quite effectively. I also hold myself responsible for my own behaviors.  My husband says I have a gift for bottom lining things. 

 What I don’t do is shame children for being over weight on Halloween or at any time. That is cruel. I don’t shame children. Period.

If you are truly concerned about the health of the children in your community, how about a positive approach. What can you do to help the families in your community? Do you have the money to create a park or more parks in the community for families to go to and play  and exercise? Do you have fundraising skills to make this happen?  Do you know others who do?

What about creating events that focus on exercise and fun in the community? Food, even healthy food, could be served at the events. You might even include cooking contests with healthy foods.

Perhaps  you could do something on a smaller scale. Do you like to cook healthy meals? Maybe you could cook extra food and share with your neighbors who have children and are busy with their lives and or their jobs. Even the best intentioned parents can find it difficult to balance getting the children to school, working full time, and providing a healthy, balanced meal every night.  Make friends with your neighbors if you already haven’t. Ask if they would like to share dinner with you one night a week or tell them you made an extra chicken casserole, or whatever, and see if they would like to have it for dinner.

If you have a garden or a fruit tree, why not share with your neighbors?

I believe this is more in the spirit of, “It takes a Village to Raise a Child”.  Reach out, be kind, don’t judge.  I think you will find that most people are trying to do the best they can for their children. You may even be happier. I hope so.  

About jambiethoughts

My name is Jamie W. Bryant,. Sometimes I drop the W. I am a currently a 55 year old woman with a serious sense of whimsy. I was having a hard time describing myself but when a friend said everyone wanted to be a princess, men and women, I said to call me a Queen, Warrior Queen. I think Whimsical Happy sometimes Silly Warrior Queen Who Takes No Shit But Is Really Kind and loves to have fun but is really responsible might do it. It is long, however I have never been good at editing myself, in SO MANY WAYS, so there is that. If you still have no idea who I am, well, read my blog and try to figure it out. I can be serious. I can be silly. I love to make myself and others laugh. I speak real shit. I believe everyone should be treated with respect, and I will if you will. I calls them as I sees them. I sometimes swear. Gasp! I do not swear when I am in the presence of children, but this blog is for grown ups. You have been warned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Crazy Halloween Letter About Obese Children or Bitches Be Trippin’

  1. thehouseai says:

    Great statement. I too posted a rant about her. My girls were lucky – they had a natural slimness that I couldn’t break despite my repeated attempts to do so with baked goods, snacks and not always full balanced meals. Luckily for me, they took an interest in heathy eating when they got older. But I know what it means to not be happy with your body – I was anorexic for about 13 years – 17 to 30, and I still hate my body, just now there are more pounds to hate. Singling out these kids, no mattter what their weight, will be noticed by them, and they will ask, and someone will say something and they will get the idea that she thought they were “fat.” It’s not her place to be the rain on one of children’s favorite holidays (and you’re right – it’s not all about the candy – it’s about the costumes, parties, and going out at night with friends and family), and to make them feel small, ashamed, and help give them a negative self-image. And who knows what her “standards” are. She may think all but the skinniest kids are overweight. As you said, the simplest and best solution is to hand out healthy snacks, like raisins, or nuts, etc. Or not do it at all. It sounds more like she is trying to find her 15 minutes than really doing this for the good of the children, since it clearly is not. Great thoughts on it. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

