Dog Birthday Party

Recently a friend who lives nearby drove by my house and invited me, my nephew, and my dog to her dog’s birthday party. Yep, you read that right. I told my husband , who was cooking some burgers on the grill where we were going and we’d be back shortly.

L., four years old and such a happy guy, said with the enthusiasm only a child could have, “This is going to be fun.” I agreed.

It was. My friend is this great lady who is funny, smart, and loves animals. She had gotten dog treats and a special dog “birthday cake”. It was specifically made for dogs and it was small. She invited us and a few other neighbors with dogs. Her two small dogs wore the cutest dresses and the dog she had rescued from a puppy mill maybe a few months before was wearing the birthday girl dress.

Normally, I am not into dressing animals, but they were ADORABLE. It was a special occasion. And my friend has taken a thin, scared little dog and given her a loving home and helped her to be healthy and so much happier. My friend accepts animals and people where they are. She is calm and easy going.  It is a wonderful thing. Although this little dog, named Cinderella, is still nervous, I know my friend, D. will continue to help her to feel safe and love her for the rest of her life. .

I was so proud of L. He was calm and patient with all of the dogs, despite his excitement. He sat down and let the dogs come to him. He fed little pieces of the bday cake to all the dogs, sometimes putting it on the ground near them when they were shy. He was smiling and so happy to be there.

Then after the party, D. joined us at my house for a casual dinner of burgers and sweet potatoes and salad. L. very carefully and patiently pushed the dogs for their first ride in their dog stroller. D. had purchased it for them and put them in, zipped it up, (it was screened for their safety. Then L. pushed it slowly and carefully the short distance from her house to ours. D. and I and Loki walked next to him.

Then we all had dinner with my husband. It was a really nice, fun evening. And my dog loves my neighbors dogs. They are friends. They spent time in the dining room with us while we ate.

L. had fun crawling around on the floor with the dogs after he finished eating. Bell, the calmer dog crawled up behind L. and kissed him on the ear. L. giggled. Even Cinderella got closer to him, sneaking up on him to smell him at one point.  He remained calm with them.

L. repeatedly asked if he could eat the treats for the dogs which he fed to them after he finished eating, and we told him no. They are for the dogs.

D. said, it probably wouldn’t hurt anything. They are organic. She took one and handed it to me, holding it out in front of me until I took it.

I took it, held it in my hand and firmly said, “I don’t care how organic you say this is. I am not going to eat it.”

She looked at me very calmly and said, “I wanted you to smell it.”

I started laughing really hard. Really hard because I have been VERY FIRM, Like in my head, I was thinking, there is no way I am eating this dog treat no matter how much I like you. I put my hand on her shoulder and said, “I am sorry. I misunderstood.”

D. laughed. She had not been offended at all. I told you she just accepted people. And my husband laughed too.

We moved on to something else at that point. I have such good people in my life. I am so, so lucky and I love them all so much.

 

 

 

About jambiethoughts

My name is Jamie W. Bryant,. Sometimes I drop the W. I am a currently a 55 year old woman with a serious sense of whimsy. I was having a hard time describing myself but when a friend said everyone wanted to be a princess, men and women, I said to call me a Queen, Warrior Queen. I think Whimsical Happy sometimes Silly Warrior Queen Who Takes No Shit But Is Really Kind and loves to have fun but is really responsible might do it. It is long, however I have never been good at editing myself, in SO MANY WAYS, so there is that. If you still have no idea who I am, well, read my blog and try to figure it out. I can be serious. I can be silly. I love to make myself and others laugh. I speak real shit. I believe everyone should be treated with respect, and I will if you will. I calls them as I sees them. I sometimes swear. Gasp! I do not swear when I am in the presence of children, but this blog is for grown ups. You have been warned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dog Birthday Party

  1. thehouseai says:

    What a wonderful day and evening. Those are times to cherish – may not seem like much, but it is everything. You are one very lucky lady to have these wonderful people and pets in your life.

Leave a Reply

