Loving The Small Moments

Spending time with my four year old nephew is always a joyful thing. This past weekend we did little things as we usually do and they resulted in such happiness.

We put up the Christmas tree. Okay, well Bill put it up. And there was this moment where L grabbed the star for the top, put it on top of his head, and started singing, “Twinkle, twinkle, little star.” I wanted to take a picture. I didn’t get it in time, but I will remember that. He is a little boy full of joy and spontaneously does things like this so often. It makes my heart fill with joy. I want to pick him up and give him huge bear hugs constantly. I sometimes do this but I don’t do it every time I feel like it because, well, I think it would be to much. But that is how it feels.

Bill was fixing the branches on the tree. I sat on the floor and started fixing the lower branches. It’s a fake tress so you have to move them so they fill out and look more like a real tree.. L was lying on the floor and he pulled my head down onto his stomach into a snuggle with him and he kept me there. I laughed and cuddled with him and then sat up and started to work on the branches again. He pulled me back down into a cuddle.

I laughed and said, “I see your point. This is nice.” We cuddled while Bill worked. This was not fair, but I do love cuddling with this little guy I love so very much. I did move so he could lie on top of me. My head is too heavy for his little body, at least in my opinion.

We played outside with his friends. There is a  metal box in the yard and he jumped on it and danced. The little girl he was playing with him followed him and did her own little dance.  She looked over at me, we were both smiling, and she jumped down and went on with playing.

We were at McDonald’s mostly so L could run around in the play area. He loves the ladder and the slide. He also loves meeting and making friends there, which he did again that day.  Before we left, L put his fingers on the toy skateboard which was the toy that came in his happy meal and said when he was ten he would stand on one side of a real skate board and I (me, his Aunt) would stand on the other side and we would skateboard on top of hot lava. I laughed and told him that if we did that, we would do that on tv. He asked why. I told him because it would be amazing and we would make a lot of money doing that. He seemed okay with that.

We went into the restroom at McDonald’s. After he was done using the restroom, he asked me if it would be loud, referring to the hairdryer. I told him he did not have to use it if he did not want to. Then I suggested that he could be loud at the same time and then the noise from the hair dryer would not bother him. His eyes lit up.

He yelled, “Ahhhhh”, smiling the whole time, and the hand dryer made its usual loud dryer noise. I laughed. As we reached the door to go back into the restaurant, I said, “Okay, now we need to stop shouting.”

That night I realized he might do that trick again with Mom or Dad and I had forgotten to tell them about it. I smiled as I realized it would be a funny surprise. They love to laugh with L too.

 

 

 

 

About jambiethoughts

My name is Jamie W. Bryant,. Sometimes I drop the W. I am a currently a 55 year old woman with a serious sense of whimsy. I was having a hard time describing myself but when a friend said everyone wanted to be a princess, men and women, I said to call me a Queen, Warrior Queen. I think Whimsical Happy sometimes Silly Warrior Queen Who Takes No Shit But Is Really Kind and loves to have fun but is really responsible might do it. It is long, however I have never been good at editing myself, in SO MANY WAYS, so there is that. If you still have no idea who I am, well, read my blog and try to figure it out. I can be serious. I can be silly. I love to make myself and others laugh. I speak real shit. I believe everyone should be treated with respect, and I will if you will. I calls them as I sees them. I sometimes swear. Gasp! I do not swear when I am in the presence of children, but this blog is for grown ups. You have been warned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

