Are We There Yet?

We were in the kitchen. I was making lunch and we were talking as we often do. L, four years old, told me that he might want to make the other gingerbread house today and he wouldn’t eat it. I laughed and told him that I really didn’t mind that they ate the other house, in fact it was kind of funny.

He said, “I don’t like building things.”

I said, “Okay.” Thought about this, and added, “Not everyone does. You might prefer doing other things.”

L said, ” My favorite thing is to travel.”  

I was sitting at the table with him when he delivered the next line, straight faced. “Are we there yet?”

I studied his face. A moment later he allowed himself a smile. HE IS FOUR!

I  replied, “I think that is your Uncle Bill’s favorite thing for you to say when we travel.” I laughed.

He laughed. 

L said in a deep monster voice, “Are we there yet?”

I said, “I think you should practice every possible way of saying that to be ready for our next car trip.”  I made my voice really high and said, “Are we there yet?”

L and I spent a few minutes entertaining ourselves this way and laughing.

Two days ago, L.  asked , “Are we there yet?” many times as we drove an hour to go pick up L.’s partner in crime for the almost gingerbread house fiasco.  He started about ten minutes after we left the house.

Bill’s answer the first time was no.

L asked, “Two minutes?”

 Bill said, “No, more like 55 minutes.”

“What’s 55 minutes? Is that 5 minutes?”

“No, nothing like that.”

Ten minutes later, “Are we there yet?”

“Almost.”

Once Logan realized this was bothering Bill a little, he also came to understand it was funny and dealt with it as such. He would ask, then laugh. Also, he still really wanted to know if we were there yet.

L said, “Are we there yet?”,  a lot on the way back, and later in the day for  the return trips up and back. Now  L loves C and loves spending time with her, but the drive…….it is difficult for him to sit still so long, even with a little girl he loves giggling and talking next to him.

We had provided L ( for the trip up and for the shared trips the children shared it)  with Bill’s Ipad with books and games  that L loves on it to occupy him for the drive. We turned on the radio to a station appropriate for children. L loves cars and we talked about the cars on the road and what car L would like to get. We talked about various things, and were often silly and laughing,  but we always came back to……are we there yet?

But, traveling is his favorite thing. I love this little guy.

 

 

About jambiethoughts

My name is Jamie W. Bryant,. Sometimes I drop the W. I am a currently a 55 year old woman with a serious sense of whimsy. I was having a hard time describing myself but when a friend said everyone wanted to be a princess, men and women, I said to call me a Queen, Warrior Queen. I think Whimsical Happy sometimes Silly Warrior Queen Who Takes No Shit But Is Really Kind and loves to have fun but is really responsible might do it. It is long, however I have never been good at editing myself, in SO MANY WAYS, so there is that. If you still have no idea who I am, well, read my blog and try to figure it out. I can be serious. I can be silly. I love to make myself and others laugh. I speak real shit. I believe everyone should be treated with respect, and I will if you will. I calls them as I sees them. I sometimes swear. Gasp! I do not swear when I am in the presence of children, but this blog is for grown ups. You have been warned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

