Check it Out……..A Great Zombie Movie

When I walk my dog, I do a great deal of thinking. I should clarify that. When I walk my dog alone, without my nephew, I do a great deal of thinking. When I am with my four year old nephew and my dog, it’s all about my nephew and my dog, but mostly my nephew, as it should be.

But to get back to my original thought. I think a lot. A lot. And my thoughts wander as I am sure most people’s do when they walk. Yes, it would be good to be in the moment, and sometimes I manage that. Often, I have a thought and that leads to anther and I am off.

Today was a beautiful, sunny sixty degree day in Florida (apologies to those of you who are cold right now. If it makes you feel any better, I will be sweating my boobs off this summer, not literally but there will be sweat. Oh yes, there will. )

It was so quiet, actually SILENT in my little neighborhood today as I walked my chocolate lab, German Shepherd mix, that for a moment, I thought that the zombie apocalypse might have started. Yes, I was joking, sort of, even in my own mind. I did look around and nope, no zombies. Also, no children, no adults, no noise of any kind. Sometimes our neighborhood was quiet but this was just not normal. 

I continued to walk my dog and then we heard a man, half a block away talking on his cell phone. He jokingly asked the person on the other end, “So is the weather there brutally cold?” I laughed, softly but out loud, even as I thought how mean that was. His tone of voice had been loving, though, like he was talking to an old friend.  My dog was startled at the sudden sound and turned to look.  She’ll bark at anything, well almost anything and it can be unpredictable. I am not exaggerating. This dog goes ape shit sometimes. This is closely related to bat shit in people but I would not call it crazy as in bat shit crazy. I don’t think dogs go crazy, I think they simply react to people and things. I have a high regard for dogs and animals in general, in case you could not tell. Some people I do, some not so much. People have to earn high regard from me. Dogs don’t. Cats don’t. This is my logic. You may not agree. But this is MY logic so you don’t have to.

So I said, “It’s okay, just a man talking on a phone.” Although, my dog could see that. Yes, I talk to my dog, don’t you? She had looked at me when I started talking and then she looked back at the ground she had been smelling.  She had looked over at the man when she heard his voice. Now she was comfortable in the knowledge that everything was fine and she did not need to bark to protect me, her, or us.

As we continued on our walking, dog smelling ,occasionally peeing and my thinking fest, I thought about the zombie movie we watched last night, and movies we had watched recently. It seemed the people who survived in zombie movies were either hunters and had plenty of guns in their homes or were friends with a criminal or someone on the edges of society who had a stockpile of weapons and ammo. I pondered this for a moment.

The low budget, often silly movies had people with heart. The lead characters were off beat, sometimes funny and they loved each other. I liked that. The movie we watched last night featured people in a nursing home who fought off zombies and the man’s grandchildren who fought off their own share of zombies and went to the nursing home to get them to safety. It was not great art, but it was funny and showed the strength of people who love each other and work together. I like that.

I liked that they used duct tape to attach an automatic gun to one of the elderly men’s walker’s and he was a great shot. I liked the shots of the elderly men and women firing automatic guns at the zombies, shots more typical of action movies with younger men and women in them. Those elderly people KICKED BUTT and they had fun doing it.

I LOVED the slow motion, funniest, most frustrating to watch, chase scene I have ever seen, of the eighty year old man with the walker, walking incredibly slowly away from the even slower  zombies, as he tried to get to safety. His friends cheered him on the whole time. 

When I think about it, this was a great movie. It was entertaining and fun to watch. At times it was suspenseful. And at times it was funny. You wanted the characters to get to safety.  So if you enjoy zombie movies like I do, check it out. It’s called, “Cockneys vs. Zombies.” It has a lot of heart and zombies.

 

 

About jambiethoughts

My name is Jamie W. Bryant,. Sometimes I drop the W. I am a currently a 55 year old woman with a serious sense of whimsy. I was having a hard time describing myself but when a friend said everyone wanted to be a princess, men and women, I said to call me a Queen, Warrior Queen. I think Whimsical Happy sometimes Silly Warrior Queen Who Takes No Shit But Is Really Kind and loves to have fun but is really responsible might do it. It is long, however I have never been good at editing myself, in SO MANY WAYS, so there is that. If you still have no idea who I am, well, read my blog and try to figure it out. I can be serious. I can be silly. I love to make myself and others laugh. I speak real shit. I believe everyone should be treated with respect, and I will if you will. I calls them as I sees them. I sometimes swear. Gasp! I do not swear when I am in the presence of children, but this blog is for grown ups. You have been warned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

