Things That Make Me Happy

Time for a silly, lighthearted, even happy  post.  Time to write about things I love or things that make me happy. I LOVE sleeping and I am good at it. Actually I am excellent at it. It’s one of my best things. I can sleep for a really, really long time.  (Sometimes I have trouble getting to sleep, but, oh well, there is that. I didn’t say I was going to lie.)

I had this thought, about how much I love sleeping when I woke up this afternoon (yes you read that right, afternoon) in a warm cozy bed in a dark room. It was raining outside and the dark sky made it perfect sleeping weather. I love that there is such a thing, “sleeping weather.”  I have always loved to sleep, especially as a teenager. I think most teenagers value sleeping in.  I lived with people who loved to get up early, even my sister younger by three years, even when she was a teenager. I often wondered if these people were not my real family as I heard them talking happily away from eight am on in the kitchen as they ate their breakfast and chatted away INCREDIBLY LOUDLY. It felt like a conspiracy to wake me up on Saturdays, the only  day of the week this teenager might sleep a little later. 

Now in my fifties, I still relish being able to sleep late, really late.  It is a God-given right to those of us without children. Well, I think it is. There are so many things that I love, simple pleasures. Coffee. I love coffee, often iced but once in a while warm if it is a cold or cool day.

I love my husband, my family, my friends, and my pets. I love animals in general. I love to laugh. As I think about these things,  I am feeling so, so happy right now. Interesting. I love joking around with my husband and my  friends. They are intelligent, funny people.

This is not to say that my life is perfect. We all have our problems or things we would change if we could, but I am not here to complain today. Today is the what I love blog and there are plenty of things.

I love when my dog, a sixty-five pound Chocolate Lab, German Shepherd Mix and  my cat cuddle together. I love when the cat walks over to the resting dog and rubs up against her and then they walk around the house next to each other, two friends just taking a walk. This is a cat I rescued when she was an adult. She  had never been near a dog before the day she came into our home.
Last night I was  finally able to snap a picture of the two of them sleeping on a big comfy chair NEAR each other. It was late and dark in the house so it wasn’t a great picture but it was a picture of the two of them together. The cat has been trying to cuddle up next to the dog for years now. The dog is werid about that. Although she is affectionate and loves to be petted, she needs her space when she sleeps. She rarely wants me or my husband , or visa versa, to touch her with our legs or any part of our bodies when she crawls into bed, under the covers, and goes down to the foot of it. She jumps up and moves when the cats snuggles up to her, when the cat puts her little cat body right up against the dog while she is asleep. The cat looks startled when the dog jumps up. She adores this dog The dog loves her too, she just appears to need her space.  I hope they get there one day and I find them just wrapped up together in an intimate snuggle. The cat is closing the gap little by little, each time she lies down near the dog. You can see her plotting, but in a good way.

I don’t love it when the cat runs outside. I wold prefer that she be an indoor cat so that she remains healthy and safe but she is quick and determined. When I open the door to take the dog for a walk or for whatever reason, the cat runs out. What I do love is that the dog sits in a chair staring out the front window and watches for her cat. She will bark and let me know when the cat is outside and ready to come in. This is a good thing because although I do want the cat inside, after a while I sometimes get distracted and forget that the cat is out there. The dog has the cat’s back. She never lets her down. 
Although the cat has been known to scratch like hell at the front door and scare the crap out of me when I am concentrating on something else and have also forgotten that she is out there. This is especially effective late at night. So there is that too.

I love watching television with my husband while mostly he but I also make fun of the television show or more often horror movie, often bad, or commercials. He makes me laugh really hard and although I complain that he has ruined yet another commercial for me and I will never watch it the same again, I love it. I love laughing with him. He is my husband and my friend. I know we are lucky. 

I love talking with my friends and family on Facebook, chatting, making fun of each other, and exchanging messages. Many of my friends and family live far away.  We talk and we joke and it is amazing. I stay connected with people I have known forever and friends I have known since grade school. It is amazing to have good, loving people in my life. I stay in touch with good, loving friends I have not known as long but are just as important. I am happy to talk and joke and laugh with them. My friends and family are smart and did I mention funny?  We have serious talks also. We don’t agree on everything, and that keeps it interesting and informative.

I love spending time with my husband and two young people, both four years old that fill my heart with love and joy. Children know just know how to appreciate life. They laugh, play, and ask questions about everything. They want to understand and have little to no fear. I love them and they love me. It is one of the best things in my life and an honor to spend time with them. They teach me so much about life and I try to teach them things to, the important things like being silly and kind. I still do all the important grown up things too, keeping them safe and teaching them to be respectful, including doing that by setting an example is vital, but I won’t forget that using your imagination is important,  and playing with them is a gift.
When they tell me the back seat of the car if full of cows and sheep and sharks and giraffes and make the accompanying noises, we all giggle, the little boy and girl, my husband and me. (Yes, they have a noise for the giraffe, and I can’t possible repeat it here as I don’t know how, but it’s adorable.) When we make up songs and the silly words to them, all kid friendly of course, we all laugh.  We have fun together. We love each other. It’s how it should be. We also do things outside of the car, just to be clear. 🙂

Reading makes me happy. I have loved to read since I was a little girl. In the earliest picture of me with a book in my hands, I am about four or five years old. My parents told me that I always had a book in my hands. From the time I can remember, I have always loved to read.
I believe that reading saved my life. We were poor. There were many things we could not and did not do. When I grew up we had three channels on our television. My parents didn’t have cable.

Reading helped to educate me. I had school and I had books. I read every book I could get my hands on. Even outside of school, I read all of the time.  My home life sucked and the imaginary world was a wonderful place to be. I hoped to be a writer when I grew up, although my parents eventually let me know they thought I had a future of being a legal secretary, living in the same small home town I grew up in, in mind for me. That was not the future of my dreams. It was to close to my family, for one thing. Then I worked a summer for the rudest lawyer I had ever met and I knew it was not for me.

I loved to read horror books. They fascinated me. I got cheap paperbacks or got them from the school library.  I could get lost in a book and the world around me disappeared completely. I did not hear my annoying family. They were gone and I was in the different and scary world. It was a better place.

 

And I am happy that I am able to blog and express my feelings whether I am happy, frustrated, sad, whatever. I am not someone who holds my thoughts inside well or happily. I have written stories and in notebooks since I was a little girl.  I sometimes wonder what my childhood would have been like if there had been internet, Facebook and blogging then. Would I have been brave enough to write about the abuse going on in my home? Would I have gotten frustrated enough to let it out? Would I have been able to reach out to the resources available and understand what was really happening in my life? I think of all the things I might have learned about the world and what was available to me.

It didn’t happen, of course. Thankfully it is here now.  Thankfully I learned that I could go to college even if I was poor and I could move out of my home town.  Hopefully it can help everyone who needs it, in whatever way they need it.

 And today is my happy blog. I am happy to be me, with all of the lessons I have learned, and to be where I am.  I was lucky to have the loving friends and neighbors that I did have. I was able to talk to them in what limited way I felt comfortable. They supported me. They loved me and I loved them.  I was lucky to have my then boyfriend, and now husband, who encouraged me to go to college when my parents told me I could not. 
 I was lucky to have the teachers who told me I was smart and encouraged me. You need people in your life that you can depend on. /p>

All the people in my past, that support system saved me. Maybe they didn’t know it, but they did and I am so grateful to all of them. I love you all and thank you. To all the people in my present, thank you for your continued support. I love you and appreciate you. This is my happy blog and my grateful blog.

 

 

 

About jambiethoughts

My name is Jamie W. Bryant,. Sometimes I drop the W. I am a currently a 55 year old woman with a serious sense of whimsy. I was having a hard time describing myself but when a friend said everyone wanted to be a princess, men and women, I said to call me a Queen, Warrior Queen. I think Whimsical Happy sometimes Silly Warrior Queen Who Takes No Shit But Is Really Kind and loves to have fun but is really responsible might do it. It is long, however I have never been good at editing myself, in SO MANY WAYS, so there is that. If you still have no idea who I am, well, read my blog and try to figure it out. I can be serious. I can be silly. I love to make myself and others laugh. I speak real shit. I believe everyone should be treated with respect, and I will if you will. I calls them as I sees them. I sometimes swear. Gasp! I do not swear when I am in the presence of children, but this blog is for grown ups. You have been warned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Things That Make Me Happy

  1. thehouseai says:

    You are lucky to have so much things you love. I too like sleeping. I am not good at it, and it is only all my meds that allows me to sleep for 7-8 hours – for a while it was 5 to 6. But on my own now, I can sleep later, and nothing wakes me, except my cat on occasion if I am really late. I love tea, reading, finding things on the internet that astonish me, amuse me, make me smile and feel warm and snuggly inside, etc. My smile to today was this Middle East wall of homes, made of some kind of mud or wattle and daub, and they were built on terraces, so you could wind up between levels. It made me smile with the wonder. Getting my new TV tomorrow is making me smile. The return of the Walking Dead and other shows, like maing Race, Survivor, makes me smile, and the Olympics make me Giving to a rabbit rescue and a cat rescuer in Russia, however small, made me smile. And I got a new book to read for a review – Devastation – Built on Fear Pt.1 by Shandy Kurth. It’s a post-apocalyptic set of books. Looks good, so it’s my next book. I’m down to one eye today. No nap to make me happier… 😉

Leave a Reply

