Check This Horror Movie Out. Like A Creepy Groundhogs Day In Hell

I liked this one. I liked it a lot. It’s called, ” “Haunter”, watched it on Netflix, although I am not advertising for them, just saying, and the premise is great as well as the story, the acting, and well, everything. Am I conveying my absolute love for this one? I love a movie that is creepy and makes you wonder what the hell is going on. I will not tell you very much before I get to the spoiler alerts because if you like horror movies, I strongly advise that you watch this one. On my scale, which I can’t remember and can’t find in past writings, but I believe goes from WHAT THE SHIT? to THIS IS GREAT! WATCH THE SHIT OUT OF THIS ONE. Well, it’s the latter. Please do WATCH THE SHIT OUT OF THIS ONE. It IS GREAT!  This is good stuff.  I jumped several times, and I don’t do that easily.

The premise is the main character, a teenage girl played by the actress who was in Little Miss Sunshine  now all grown up,  is stuck in the day before her sixteenth birthday, forever. She is living in a house with her mother, father, and younger brother. She lives this day over and over but only she knows it. Sounds like hell to me, however her family is nice. Nothing ever changes. Then she decides to try to figure out why this is happening and of course, that is where the trouble starts.

This movie makes even the little things truly creepy. When the phone rings, everything stops. The phone is broken you see. They all stare at it as if it is alive and will hurt them. It is so creepy and not overused. It’s the little touches like this that make this movie work. Suspense does its job in this movie.  It all builds up to the bigger moments, and it all works.  I LOVED so many things about this.  It’s done just right.

I highly recommend it. I can’t say that enough.

Now. Spoiler Alerts. Please. Please watch the movie first. Then if you want, read this.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

1. How much did you love the thing with the phone? I obviously loved it a tremendous amount! When the father said there was a call from the teacher and a change in her assignment, and Lisa walked over to the phone so slowly and terrified, I LOVED that part. I LOVED that they filmed it like she was being a dramatic teenager and the father was just a regular Dad being impatient with her. I LOVED it. Did I mention I loved it? There was also humor in that situation.

2.  I loved that when the telephone rang everyone stopped eating and turned and looked at the telephone.

3. When there was a knock at the front door. That was a great moment. Waiting for whoever was outside to walk in. Also amazing.

4.  I did not want Lisa to go into the red door. I even said that I would not do that. My husband said, even if you were already dead? I said, nope, not even then. So, I am not brave, even imagining myself as a ghost. There is that. Of course, it would have been a much shorter movie if she had not gone in there.

5.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. The move from Lisa’s body to another one was something I did not see coming and I liked that too, that Lisa had a goal to save someone else and their family. I also liked that it wasn’t easy or simple, she had to figure it out and work for it.
6. I liked that Lisa was smart, stubborn and strong. I liked that even when she got scared, terrified, she kept going to do the right thing. Every time she got terrified, she took a moment if she needed it, but then she started again. I LOVED that.
7. I really loved that both fathers were stuck in the garage working on the cars. I know that is stereotypical but it still worked. The second father was scarier when working on his car, true.
8. Lisa’s father working on his car was such an exercise in futility. In some ways it amused the hell out of me because he was just banging the hell out of that car. Talk about getting your frustrations out. However, he was not doing anything that would fix that fucking car, which made sense at the end. Still, when he tells Lisa to leave because he has a lot of work to do on the car and all he is doing is pounding the hell out of the metal, creepy as fuck.
9. True, Mom had to prepare pancakes for breakfast and mac and cheese for dinner every night but at least she had something to show for her efforts when she was done.
10. The little brother got to lose the same video game. Every. Damn. Day. So that had to be frustrating. However, children are resilient. Even when they are dead. Apparently.
11. The other question I had was, did they have to watch the same episode of “Murder She Wrote” on television every night ? Since Lisa knew the days were repeating, it must have been driving her crazy. I mean, life is monotonous and emotional enough when you are a teenager but seriously, the same house, the same people, the same day, the same meals, AND the same FUCKING television show every damn day? And I thought I would go crazy if they asked Lisa one more time about the missing clothes from the laundry! Holy crap! Maybe it wasn’t courage. Maybe it was the fucking monotony. Maybe it was frustration. She had to take on the bad guy, for FUCKS SAKE!
10. I loved the ending. I bet you had guessed that. I like it when the good guys win. Well, as much as the dead good guys can win.
I would love to hear your thoughts on what I had to say. I am a bit like the Lisa character. I do not give up. I will keep thinking and typing and waiting for a fucking response from one of you. Oh yes I will. 🙂 Someone out there has to like horror movies as much as I do. Someone. Oh no, am I repeating myself?

About jambiethoughts

My name is Jamie W. Bryant,. Sometimes I drop the W. I am a currently a 55 year old woman with a serious sense of whimsy. I was having a hard time describing myself but when a friend said everyone wanted to be a princess, men and women, I said to call me a Queen, Warrior Queen. I think Whimsical Happy sometimes Silly Warrior Queen Who Takes No Shit But Is Really Kind and loves to have fun but is really responsible might do it. It is long, however I have never been good at editing myself, in SO MANY WAYS, so there is that. If you still have no idea who I am, well, read my blog and try to figure it out. I can be serious. I can be silly. I love to make myself and others laugh. I speak real shit. I believe everyone should be treated with respect, and I will if you will. I calls them as I sees them. I sometimes swear. Gasp! I do not swear when I am in the presence of children, but this blog is for grown ups. You have been warned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

