#BrockTurner, Brock Turner is a Rapist and Deserves More Than Six Months in Jail. And More Importantly To The Rape Survivor, The Warrior, We Stand With You

Brock Turner raped an unconscious woman behind a dumpster. He was stopped by two witnesses on bicycles. Brock stopped what he was doing when they saw him, thus in my opinion and seriously it’s just common sense, signifying that he knew he was doing something wrong.  Then he  ran away. The witnesses chased after him and held him for the police. One witness  was crying and vomiting due to what he saw.

This must have been a truly horrific scene  for a person to have this reaction, to cry and vomit.  Now think about the way that Brock has described what happened that night.   He said he drank too much.

The Judge stated in writing  he was sentencing Brock to six months in jail, not prison,  because he took responsibility for his actions and showed remorse. Really? I think I missed it. I think we all did.

When did that happen? When did Brock show remorse?  He never said he was sorry for raping an unconscious woman, for violating her body, for putting his fingers and leaves inside her body, for raping her with a foreign object, for undressing her, or for anything that he did to her that night, for twenty minutes, according to his father..

Brock said he drank too much.

I don’t think that witness was crying and vomiting because Brock drank too much.

I don’t think the unconscious woman who was violated by Brock, who spent a year or more recovering, who wrote a powerful, brave, amazing letter, the woman, the  warrior who stood up and faced her rapist in court had to recover from everything that  happened because Brock DRANK too much.

I’ve seen people drink too much, and I was okay afterwards. Sometimes I thought they made a fool of themselves, but hey, live and let live as long as you don’t rape anyone. I bet you’ve seen people drink too much. I bet you were okay.

I’m pretty sure the woman that Brock assaulted made it clear that she had to recover., and she will continue to because she was raped. Brock Turner  raped her. He is a rapist. Rape is a violent crime. Thus despite what his father said in his statement,  Brock is  a violent criminal who perpetrated a violent crime against an unconscious woman. Brock should be ashamed, but he hasn’t said anything to indicate that he is. He should be sorry but again, he hasn’t said anything to indicate that he is.

He did however, drink too much.

The sense of entitlement, arrogance, denial, and misogyny leaps off  the page of the letter written by  Brock’s father, Dan Turner. He described the rape as “twenty minutes of action”. That was not “action”, Mr. Turner. That was rape. Rape is defined as violence. That is what your son did to another human being. He committed an act of violence, from what you said, for twenty minutes. He committed acts of violence against a woman who was unconscious. There were witnesses. One vomited and cried due to what he saw.  Let me say that again, he was so disturbed by what he saw your son doing to an unconscious woman that he cried and vomited. He had compassion for the victim of your son’s crime.

Your son is a rapist, Mr. Turner. You raised a rapist. You make excuses for a rapist. You did everything you could to be sure your son went to jail for only six months. You feel sorry for your son. No one else does. I certainly don’t. You will never understand what I am saying. I don’t care. I needed to say this, so I am. Even if you don’t care, you are accountable. You and your son are accountable. Every rapist, every parent who raises a rapist with the attitude that you have is accountable, and you always will be.

 

Now most importantly,

To the rape survivor, to the warrior woman, you have my respect. I believe you have the respect of women and men everywhere. They are speaking for you and to you on Twitter, on Facebook and on blogs like this, wanting to support you and tell you that we care, and that we are outraged at the way you were treated by the rapist, in the courtroom, and by the insulting six month sentence.

Please take care of yourself. Do what you need to do to heal. Cry, scream, swear, break things, write, laugh, hug your family,  do whatever you need to do.  Women everywhere love and respect you. Thank you for writing and reading that brave and amazing letter. Thank you for having it published. Many women needed to read that. I needed to read that. Many women have benefited from it. I’m sorry for what you have been through, but you will get through this. We stand with you. I stand with you.

 

 

 

.

About jambiethoughts

My name is Jamie W. Bryant,. Sometimes I drop the W. I am a currently a 55 year old woman with a serious sense of whimsy. I was having a hard time describing myself but when a friend said everyone wanted to be a princess, men and women, I said to call me a Queen, Warrior Queen. I think Whimsical Happy sometimes Silly Warrior Queen Who Takes No Shit But Is Really Kind and loves to have fun but is really responsible might do it. It is long, however I have never been good at editing myself, in SO MANY WAYS, so there is that. If you still have no idea who I am, well, read my blog and try to figure it out. I can be serious. I can be silly. I love to make myself and others laugh. I speak real shit. I believe everyone should be treated with respect, and I will if you will. I calls them as I sees them. I sometimes swear. Gasp! I do not swear when I am in the presence of children, but this blog is for grown ups. You have been warned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #BrockTurner, Brock Turner is a Rapist and Deserves More Than Six Months in Jail. And More Importantly To The Rape Survivor, The Warrior, We Stand With You

  1. thehouseai says:

    Terrific response. I only wish she could see it.

  2. thehouseai says:

    Reblogged this on Thehouseai’s Weblog and commented:
    A terrific response to the Stanford rape case by a good friend of mine. She really got it right.

Leave a Reply

