The Revolution Will Be Peaceful And It’s Happening Now, Not Our President

The day that Hillary Clinton was not elected President of the United States and that Donald Trump was, was a sad and terrifying day for many people, not because we are sore losers, but because we had high hopes for a future where progress was made for women, men, and children, for gay people, for people of every race and color, for disabled people, for everyone.  We had hopes for progress for everyone, for understanding between people, for safety for everyone, and for hope for the future.  We thought all of the hate speech might be nearing an end, that finally we could all take a breath and relax for the first time in over a year.  They didn’t understand they other than white men, people in this country haven’ felt safe in this country as Trump spewed  racism, sexism, homophobia and hate of every kind.

Instead on Wednesday morning we woke to an America where only white men were safe. Everyone who wasn’t a white man was shocked, and angry, and sad, often in tears of despair.  White men didn’t understand. They told us to calm down, stop being silly, or a sore loser.  Grow up.

It wasn’t just about the election. It was about WHO we were electing. And WHAT KIND OF PERSON we were electing. It was also about what KIND OF WORLD we were voting for. That day you voted for hate. You can deny it all you want, but we have all listened to Trump’s words over the last year. You voted for hate and racism and division. So don’t ask us to unify. We will not support racism and hate. We simply say, no.

We are going to fight for the rights and dignity of everyone who is not a white man for the next four years if that’s how long Trump is in office. You see, we think you made a horrible mistake, one that could destroy the America that we love and respect. We aren’t going to sit down and shut up and watch that happen. No, we are going to resist that in every legal way available to us.

I have some news for you white men of America and the white women, God knows why, who chose to vote for Trump, we are an intelligent, articulate, motivated group, and we are going to accomplish a great deal together. Thank you so much for the wake up call and the motivation. You don’t know what you’ve done, but you will. You’ve awoken a sleeping giant, a group of people so large, that we will make sweeping changes in this country of great and wonderful things. Thank you for unifying us, for getting us all talking to each other.

You’ve done it now, and it will be amazing. 🙂  No, we won’t sit down, and shut up, or be quiet ever again. So stand by white men of America, we see you. We really see you for who you are and what you believe now. There’s no hiding now. We aren’t hiding either.  I know many minorities already knew what we know now, that you would vote for a Presidential candidate that spewed hate and racism, sexism, made fun of the disabled, and represented only white men. I thought America was better than that. At least I hoped it was, but  I WAS WRONG.

So I, a white, middle-aged, white woman am here to tell you that many of us have been talking, and we are not going to sit down and shut up. You’ve seen the protests.  Well, I’m going to my first protest EVER tonight.  ( I’m older and not in great health and I may spend more time sitting than anything else, but I’m going.)  And despite what you have read in some crazy articles on Facebook, no one is paying protestors eighteen dollars an hour to protest. That made me laugh, actually. People are actually really angry and frustrated with all of you people who voted for a racist man for President. THAT IS ACTUAL REALITY. So they are protesting for free. WRAP YOUR MIND AROUND THAT.

I don’t know who would be rich enough to pay all of those protestors all of that money, but hey, it would be a great job if you could get it.  That’s sarcasm in case any of you Trump voters didn’t get that.

Anyway, many people actually have morals and standards. Maybe people who voted for Trump don’t understand that, I don’t know.  However, I and possibly a thousand people will be protesting for free tonight to say we are not supporting Trump for President because we do not support racism, and hate, and homophobia, and sexism. Try to wrap your mind around that. It is a peaceful protest. We simply want to make our voices heard.

The revolution will be peaceful.  And it’s happening now.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About jambiethoughts

My name is Jamie W. Bryant,. Sometimes I drop the W. I am a currently a 55 year old woman with a serious sense of whimsy. I was having a hard time describing myself but when a friend said everyone wanted to be a princess, men and women, I said to call me a Queen, Warrior Queen. I think Whimsical Happy sometimes Silly Warrior Queen Who Takes No Shit But Is Really Kind and loves to have fun but is really responsible might do it. It is long, however I have never been good at editing myself, in SO MANY WAYS, so there is that. If you still have no idea who I am, well, read my blog and try to figure it out. I can be serious. I can be silly. I love to make myself and others laugh. I speak real shit. I believe everyone should be treated with respect, and I will if you will. I calls them as I sees them. I sometimes swear. Gasp! I do not swear when I am in the presence of children, but this blog is for grown ups. You have been warned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

