Narcissists, My Father, and Donald Trump. Be Afraid, Very Afraid.

I’ve said it before, and I will say it again and again, my father is a narcissist and a sociopath, and in my opinion, and based on my education, many years of experience working in the field of social services with narcissists and sociopaths, and my painful, messed up, very bad childhood, I honestly believe that Donald Trump is a narcissist and a sociopath.

Stop for just a moment and think about that. In my opinion and experience in working with people who are narcissists and sociopaths, I believe that our President Elect, Donald Trump, is a narcissist and a sociopath.  If that does not send chills down your spine, and make you want to run screaming from your home or wherever you are reading this,  you don’t understand what I am trying to tell you.  Clearly. You. Do. Not.

You should be frightened, really frightened, like we are all going to die on fire and screaming, kind of frightened. No, I’m not overreacting. I’m looking at the possible horrible outcome of electing someone who in my opinion is a  narcissist.  I may be spouting some hyperbole, maybe a little bit. I am trying to make a point. This is bad, so bad, people, and you should be worried, and everyone needs to be educated about narcissists and sociopaths because someone  who is one, in my opinion,  is  in charge now or will be soon.

Narcissists care only about themselves. Sure Trump appears to love his children. I will tell you as clearly as I can that narcissist do not know how to love anyone except themselves, and I ‘m not sure even that is real love. They do not feel emotions like real human beings. I’m not criticizing Trump. I’m describing a narcissist and that is who he is based on all of his behaviors and traits, in my opinion. (Just covering my bottom here.) Please hear me.

Do you know who narcissist care about? Themselves. That’s it. That’s the list. One person. They care about one person, and that is themselves. They don’t care about their mother, their father, their grandparents, or their children. They are the most selfish creature on the face of the earth. They do not care how much you love them, how much you did for them, how kind you are, or who you are.  If you don’t believe this now, you will. Oh, you will.

His children serve his needs to feed his ego, to make him feel important, and successful. Look at the daughter that he does not include except at the very edges of his life. She does not meet his needs in the way that he wants her to, so she is mostly excluded except for photo opportunities.  And she wouldn’t let him kiss her after the debate. She tried to be subtle, but you saw it.  I’m stating facts.  The other children tow the company line, they praise him, make him look good, and they are in the family businesses. They please him, and they are his pride and joy.  The beautiful  daughter on the edges would be in the rebel role, and she is excluded. This often happens in a family with a father that is narcissist.

I was the rebel in my family, also the runner. I guess you can take both roles because I did. I wasn’t keeping my mouth shut about the crazy things being said or done when I could get far enough from my father’s reach to say it without being hit. And I wasn’t living in my parents’ home any longer than I had to.  I went to college in another state from eighteen to nineteen, living on campus. I transferred colleges and left home at nineteen, lived in my own apartment, and went to college, paying my own way the entire time because my parents were poor, but even if they weren’t, my father and mother told me from the time I was young that I was  stupid and ugly. They never would have helped me. They  did everything in their power to control me and undermine me. It didn’t work.

Narcissists also lie. The old joke is: How do you know when  a narcissist is lying? He’s talking.  Boom.

He may tell the truth once in a while just to mess with us. Have fun figuring out when.

Well, that sounds a lot like Donald Trump to me. How about you? He lies. He lies to hear himself talk. He lies because he can. He lies because he wants to lie.  He will continue to lie because that is what narcissists do. The next four years, God help us if it goes on that long, there will be so many LIES. Get used to it.

I also don’t care how entertaining Twitter or Saturday Night Live are. The lies have the potential to destroy our country. That is unacceptable. That is frightening. If you still aren’t frightened, you have not been paying attention. You need to wake up. The smart awake people are frightened as hell. We have every right to be. We aren’t crybabies. We are scared as hell  because some of you elected a narcissist who is a sociopath, in my opinion, and also some other people’s.

Narcissists also get angry a lot, ten to fly into rages. They do not handle being challenged well or calmly, and sometimes seek revenge. See Twitter, see the Presidential debates, see how angry Mr. Trump got when Megan Kelley asked him about the negative statements he made about women, calling them pigs, etc., see the Presidential debates when Megan Kelley asked Trump about the things he called Rosie O Donnell, see the videos of the things Trump said about Megan Kelley, “blood coming out of her whatever.”

My own father’s face contorted into a rage at my response  every time he ordered me to apologize to my abusive, manipulative mother,  for something cruel I had neither said nor done  or be grounded for months at a time.  My response, always from way across the room, while standing in the doorway so that I could run if he, a violent man,  showed any sign of coming near me in a defiant tone was, “I’ll apologize, but you and I will both know I don’t mean it.”

He would give me this look, like he wanted to beat me to a pulp, and I half run,  half walk away, out of the doorway, down the short hallway, down the stairs, into the kitchen, and outside the house, where there were neighbors and potential witnesses where he would never hit me. Our neighbors thought he was the perfect father. He had an image to maintain.

I was a teen by then, occasionally defiant, and a fast runner when necessary.  He’d spent years telling me that my mother had cried all night about something I’d never said or done. He’d spent years telling me I could not discuss my imaginary offenses with her.  She was no better, having given me the silent treatment for three or four days  the ,” Your mother cried all night talk.”  Suddenly, I would just notice that my mother was not talking to me, from the time I was twelve or thirteen. They could play their mind games, but I could not keep all the anger and craziness in my head. I had to say something before getting away from my father.

These are only some of the examples I could give you about my father. I am hoping you will see the similarities. I am hoping you will understand.

Narcissists have so many characteristics that do not suit the person that America trusts to run the country. I hope that you will do research regarding narcissist personality disorder. I am not saying that Trump is mentally ill. It’s a personality disorder. People who have this disorder KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING. I make no excuses for anyone with this disorder. They are responsible for their behaviors, each and every one of them. They plan many of the things that they do. Some may be spontaneous, but many are planned.  Believe me, don’t believe me, it’s still all true.

Narcissists do not change. They are consistent in their behaviors. They do not get better with treatment. Period. Full stop. Therapy does not work. Behavior modification does not work. Medication does not work. It’s a personality disorder. It’s who that person is. So, here you are, America. You have elected a person, again in my opinion, but not only mine, who is a narcissistic personality disorder.  The one thing that I have read is that narcissists’ behaviors get worse with age. My father did get worse. He was more angry, more rigid, more racist, more sexist, and outspoken.  That sounds like someone.

And look at us, America, we elected a man, who in my opinion, is a narcissist, and he is seventy years old. We did it.

Now, what are we going to do about it?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About jambiethoughts

My name is Jamie W. Bryant,. Sometimes I drop the W. I am a currently a 55 year old woman with a serious sense of whimsy. I was having a hard time describing myself but when a friend said everyone wanted to be a princess, men and women, I said to call me a Queen, Warrior Queen. I think Whimsical Happy sometimes Silly Warrior Queen Who Takes No Shit But Is Really Kind and loves to have fun but is really responsible might do it. It is long, however I have never been good at editing myself, in SO MANY WAYS, so there is that. If you still have no idea who I am, well, read my blog and try to figure it out. I can be serious. I can be silly. I love to make myself and others laugh. I speak real shit. I believe everyone should be treated with respect, and I will if you will. I calls them as I sees them. I sometimes swear. Gasp! I do not swear when I am in the presence of children, but this blog is for grown ups. You have been warned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

