The Era Of Taking No More Shit, Stand Up, Speak Up, Take A Stand. No More Hate. (Thanks, Hamilton)

Last night the cast of Hamilton committed what may be seen as a revolutionary act. From the stage, they spoke directly to Mr. Pence, the Vice President Elect, at the curtain call on behalf of the majority of Americans who are concerned and frightened about the future of American in the hands of the new administration. The actor spoke eloquently and respectfully. He asked that they keep us safe. In many ways on behalf of all of us, he held Mr. Pence and the administration accountable. He told them publicly, the world is watching you. Make no mistake, they are. America is.  I was moved by the words.  I hope Mr. Pence was. I’m a realist, so I’m not counting on it, but I do hope he was. I hope he listened, and actually heard the words and their meaning. It was a respectful appeal for help.

Today, I saw the Tweet that Mr. Trump posted about what the cast of Hamilton said.  He demanded an apology. In my opinion, he neither listened nor heard the meaning of the words the actor spoke so well and so respectfully.  This is not surprising, but it is sad for our country and for the many people who live in it and are vulnerable to the feelings of hate and probable  future acts of violence and actual acts of violence that have already happened that have been stirred up by the hate speech that took place in the campaign of the last year or more. To spell out who is vulnerable, that would be anyone who is not a white man, and even more so, anyone who is not a rich white man.

That does  not mean that the cast of Hamilton failed or that anyone should stop speaking out.  On the contrary, what they did was inspiring, brave, heartfelt, meaningful, and beautiful. They set an example to be followed by everyone in America. Stand up in restaurants, on the streets, in schools, in coffee shops, anywhere you see Mr. Pence, Mr. Trump or any of our public officials and tell them what you feel, what you think, what you need from their administration. Use respectful words.  Talk to them with respect, but please talk to them.

Call them in their offices, send them e mails, write them letters, and yes, protest. Write on their Facebook pages. Please do everything that you can to communicate with those who represent you and work for you.

VOTE, My God, everyone please go out and vote.

THEY DO WORK FOR US. Remember that.  This is one of the many beautiful things about that moment, they seized it, and you can too. Don’t let your moment pass. Seize it, and speak up. Film it if you can and post it on Facebook and Twitter. We all speak out over and over respectfully and peacefully.

I thank the actor who spoke out. I thank the person who wrote the words. I thank the cast that stood together. I thank the audience that listened quietly and respectfully and clapped. I thank all of them as an individual, as the  writer of my small blog, as an American,  as a survivor of sexual assault, as a woman who does not feel safe in Trump’s America even now and has not since he started campaigning and talking about women with a level of disrespect and frankly hate,  I have never heard in a presidential candidate before and hope to never hear again.

I am not giving up, however, and I will not cower in fear because I am also angry. So are many others. I am offended that a minority of people think they can treat others with hate, ugliness, and violence simply because they are not white men. We do not accept that. We will not accept that. The time to be silent is over.  I am done taking your shit. WE ARE DONE TAKING YOUR SHIT. We need to stand up, speak up, and say no to racism, hate of all kinds, sexism, misogyny, homophobia, hate towards the disabled, the mentally ill, transgender people, hate towards anyone is not acceptable. We need to unite together and tell anyone who hates us that we will not accept it anymore. There are many of us, and we need to work together to end this.

Go to the internet. Go to Facebook. Go to Twitter. Follow like-minded people who don’t hate others. Read real news. I said it. Educate yourself. Join groups that are helping others.  Protest, yes, protest because you meet like-minded people there, and you can organize to do more good things together to FIX THIS SHIT, TO FIX THIS MESS, to continue to stand up and speak up.

This is the ERA OF TAKING NO MORE SHIT. STAND UP. SPEAK UP. SAY SOMETHING. NO MORE HATE. There are many of us who don’t agree with any of this hate. Stand together. Support each other. Keep each other safe. Help each other.

We still have free speech. Let’s keep it this way. No apologies.

 

 

 

 

About jambiethoughts

My name is Jamie W. Bryant,. Sometimes I drop the W. I am a currently a 55 year old woman with a serious sense of whimsy. I was having a hard time describing myself but when a friend said everyone wanted to be a princess, men and women, I said to call me a Queen, Warrior Queen. I think Whimsical Happy sometimes Silly Warrior Queen Who Takes No Shit But Is Really Kind and loves to have fun but is really responsible might do it. It is long, however I have never been good at editing myself, in SO MANY WAYS, so there is that. If you still have no idea who I am, well, read my blog and try to figure it out. I can be serious. I can be silly. I love to make myself and others laugh. I speak real shit. I believe everyone should be treated with respect, and I will if you will. I calls them as I sees them. I sometimes swear. Gasp! I do not swear when I am in the presence of children, but this blog is for grown ups. You have been warned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Era Of Taking No More Shit, Stand Up, Speak Up, Take A Stand. No More Hate. (Thanks, Hamilton)

  1. I am regular reader, how are you everybody?
    This paragraph posted at this web site is in fact pleasant.

Leave a Reply

